Insimenator.org
May 09, 2024, 06:46:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I need expert opinions >.<  (Read 1974 times)
0 Members and 1 Chinese Bot are viewing this topic.
Kitty!

View Profile
« on: May 28, 2009, 08:15:58 am »

Hey, of course, Maxis does it again, and i need to make an upgrade to my pc to be able to actually enjoy sims 3, im sure my pc wontbe able to handle it, so im on this dilemma, im building my own computer and im not sure which video card i should buy, theres this SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit (256-bit x 2) GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card from ATI radeon ( i have never used these cards before) and theres this EVGA 02G-P3-1185-AR GeForce GTX 285 2GB 512-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card from nvidia and im not sure which one is more reliable or better , i dont wanna buy a video card that will only make it for 6 months, they both expensive but im willing to buy one but im not sure which one, pls help...
saowens
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2009, 11:36:31 am »

Well, just comparing the cards the 4870 was rated a better card than the GTX 285 but not by enough to make that much of a difference for the reason you are looking to buy one. When it comes down to these two cards the price should be the determining factor for you.

One thing about the radeon is it requires 2 6 pin PCIE slots and is a half an inch longer than the 4870. The extra half an inch could be an issue with installing it in your system.

Now, having said that there are other factors involved here.

Can your system handle either one of these cards? 
Does your mother board support PCIE 2.0?
What is the wattage of the power supply in your pc?