Insimenator.org
January 19, 2022, 06:24:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Making Restaurant Work on Residential Lot  (Read 10780 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« on: April 06, 2011, 04:41:24 pm »

I have a family that has a restaurant built in the ground level of their house. It's all put together, but I didn't have the hostess podium or restaurant stove in my catalog even after I started a home business over the phone.

I went to MTS and downloaded the "OFB objects for Residential" package, and the hostess stand and stove are both in the collections now, but for some reason, when I click on them, they are not useable. If I click the item to place in my kitchen, only my original cursor shows up.

I'm not sure of what to do. Can someone help me with this?

I have all EPS.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
HappyThoughts
Lump of Clay
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 267


Fear me I'm 5'3" ooga booga booga


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2011, 06:45:53 pm »

are you buying these items through your families business menu or the buy/build menu? 

And is your home restaurant open after placing them, they won't activate until the open sign is up/or the ticket seller is on.

I've never openned a restaurant in my own sim home before but I'm trying to help Cheesy
Logged

SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 07:05:42 pm »

I bought the items through the buy/build menu. I don't know how to go through the business menu. And my business was closed at the time. I will try to see if opening it makes such items selectable.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
HappyThoughts
Lump of Clay
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 267


Fear me I'm 5'3" ooga booga booga


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 07:44:32 pm »

the business menu tab resembles a cash register,this is the buy mode for your business's.  When you recieve perks *stars* you can get discounts on items you buy.  To recieve the discounts you have to use the buy mode through your business menu.  Did that sound correct?  I'm trying to word it so it's easy to find.
Logged

SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 09:05:24 pm »

That sounds like it makes sense. I will look and see if it works.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 10:20:52 am »

Something new to learn everyday about Sims 2. Very interesting information about running a restaurant on a home lot.
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 04:19:21 pm »

Okay, I tried both suggestions. I made sure my business was open, customers were coming in, I had employees in the area, etc. Still, from the collections file I couldn't select the stove or podium.

I tried to do so from the business menu thing, and there is nothing at all selectable or even present in that folder. I clicked on the thing that looked like a cash register, and there isn't anything.

Here's a print screen of what I mean:


I'm really not sure what to do from here. Should I move my family out, change the lot to a community one, put the stove and podium in it that way, and then change it back to residential and move my family back in? Will those items stay on the lot of I change it?

That's really my only other idea, unless any of you guys have any suggestions.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
carenmrose
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 48



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 05:51:33 pm »

Don't know if this is still how it has to be done on an *occupied* lot, but you can't go to collections from buy mode, you have to go from BUILD mode.  The items in the collection will still be greyed out but they can be placed.

Logged

Check out my website
and my story "Picking Up the Pieces"
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
HappyThoughts
Lump of Clay
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 267


Fear me I'm 5'3" ooga booga booga


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2011, 06:14:42 pm »

hmm I'm curious enough to try this just to find the answer now.  Sorry Senko, your trying everything I would have.  Puzzler.
Logged

SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2011, 11:08:04 pm »

I will try this from the build mode, now. Thanks. I didn't even know there was a collections in the build mode.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
Engram
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 879



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2011, 06:17:14 am »

You can't just straight up run a restaurant on a residential lot. Tutorial on how to make this work here.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 07:03:04 pm by Engram » Logged

Ell-jay: lots, sims, defaults and other downloads<br />The Thunder God went for a ride upon his favourite filly.<br />\"I\'m Thor!\" he cried, the horse replied<br />\"You forgot your thaddle, thilly!\"
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2011, 09:39:37 am »

Thanks Engram. I will give this a go.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.078 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1