Insimenator.org
October 03, 2022, 12:34:39 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Game save issue  (Read 3996 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
liverbird
Member

Posts: 320



View Profile
« on: April 05, 2011, 06:42:01 pm »

When I try to save my game recently I can save fine most of the time but I also keep getting an error code 12 message appear when saving other times.. Does anyone know what this error is & how can I avoid or fix it as it keeps deleting my save game files. I backup each time it saves properly so I don't lose anything... My game is up to date with patches & I have all exp & fun packs
Logged

Signature images may not be larger than 250 x 50. Keep them restricted to this size or smaller.
Pierre
Retiered from the sims2
Member

Posts: 1444



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 09:04:22 pm »

You could also try to use, the save as button to overwrite your save game and then resave normaly when you quit. The save as function overwrites your corrupted saved file and creates a new one on top. Of your actual save file. Wink
Logged

Please do not pm me about happysimmers this site has been close now if you need any thing please look up this forum thank youhttp://delightfulsims.net/index.php
liverbird
Member

Posts: 320



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 10:09:19 am »

Could the cause be food processed baby food that the sims keep making & another sim removes the toodler from high chair so it gets left on side & can not be cleared up...  I'll try what piere suggested re saveas saving of my game..  Thanks for your help
Logged

Signature images may not be larger than 250 x 50. Keep them restricted to this size or smaller.
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2011, 09:18:37 pm »

Error 12 is related to memory in the PC. I was always getting Error 12 on my new machine because:

1. My machine has 4 GB of RAM.
2. XP Pro is 32-bit on my machine and doesn't allow many programs to take advantage of all of the 4 GB of RAM installed in my machine.
3. Certain programs were not written to take advantage of all of the memory I got in my computer.

Then I searched online and found a solution to the problem. BUT I will warn you it is a complicated procedure to address the Error 12 issues.

I downloaded a program from NTCore called '4 GB Patch', installed the program and then used the program to patch Sims 3 to allow the game to use more than 2 GB of RAM. I fired up Sims 3 and played for hours after I did this, and I did not get an Error 12. I played multiple times and did not get Error 12 again.

So, it is up to you to decide if you want to give this a try, BUT use it at your own risk.

The following steps are listed below:

1. Download 4 GB Patch from NTCore.
2. Unzip the program to the desktop and then install the program.
3. Open 4 GB Patch. The program will then open to a directory.

In this case, you want to navigate to:

XP:

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 Outdoor Living Stuff\Game\Bin (IF you have Outdoor Living Stuff as your latest SP)

You should be looking for TS3SP03.exe in that folder.


This is what it should look like after you find the game in the game directory.

4. Click Open to allow the program to patch Sims 3.
5. Then the program will let you know it's done.
6. Play Sims 3!


** WARNING **

Do it at your own risk. The above are the basic steps to patch Sims 3 to use more than 2 GB of RAM in your machine IF you have more than 2 GB installed. If your machine has .. let's say 8 GB of RAM, then you have 8 GB to play with. If your machine only has 2 GB, then don't download and use the program.


This is the last resort on my part to get around the Error 12s I was getting constantly. I can't guarantee that this method will work for everybody, but people have said that using this program helped them with the Error 12s in Sims 3. I also used the program to patch Sims Medieval and World of Warcraft.

I hope you will find a way to get around these Error 12 issues and report back if you do find an alternative method!
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
liverbird
Member

Posts: 320



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 11:01:07 am »

Ok I'll give this a try thanks for help
Logged

Signature images may not be larger than 250 x 50. Keep them restricted to this size or smaller.
liverbird
Member

Posts: 320



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2011, 01:33:40 pm »

I tried the patch butI'm still randomly getting the error 12 code message...
Logged

Signature images may not be larger than 250 x 50. Keep them restricted to this size or smaller.
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2011, 04:40:55 pm »

Then the patching wasn't done right if the Error 12 message still continues. How much memory does your computer have?
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
liverbird
Member

Posts: 320



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2011, 08:23:19 am »

4GB, I have found a different way of solving it I used a LAA program from sims 3 wilki sight... & I have now played for 5 days few hours a time & no error code 12 so fingers crossed it has fixed it..  Thanks for your help
Logged

Signature images may not be larger than 250 x 50. Keep them restricted to this size or smaller.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.044 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1