Insimenator.org
January 19, 2022, 05:57:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: My Game Won't Play  (Read 20950 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
coffeeTime
Member

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2012, 07:56:49 pm »

Could be a sucuRom problem. http://www.simprograms.com/658/securom-removal-tool-added/  Some people never have troubles with it, I’m one of the hundreds that had the game become  unplayable after installing the Free Time patch.  I have had two new computers since then and would not let sucuRom on either of them. After installing all my games (bought legally, I'm no pirate) I used the no disk crack to ensure sucuRom never gets on my computer again.

Added a link so you can read about what sucuRom can do to your computer. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SecuROM
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 08:02:17 pm by coffeeTime » Logged
Dullahan
Lady of the Hunt
Loot Looker
****
Gender: Female
Posts: 951


Ok, flex more ; )


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2012, 08:02:49 pm »

With the vanishing sims, did this happen after editing the sims in SimPE, or just on its own?
If it did it on its own, then it could be something corrupt in your game, meaning re-installing would be a very good idea.
Logged

SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2012, 10:34:09 pm »

I will run the Securom removal.

Dullahan, It just happened on its own. I edited sims in SimPE, but those same sims I edited were not the ones (or even related to the ones) that disappeared.

UPDATE: If I did this right, SecuROM is now off my computer. But it said I can't use my disk anymore on that site or SecuROM will just be added back on. If I can't use my disk, how do I play?

One more thing. Do I uninstall and reinstall my whole game, or just my last EP?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 10:48:00 pm by SenkoTwiik » Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
coffeeTime
Member

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2012, 11:46:03 pm »

*Information removed: read our rules!*
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 12:15:53 am by caffeinated.joy » Logged
caffeinated.joy
Queen of Caffeine
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 18280



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2012, 12:20:24 am »

coffeeTime, we do not condone the use of (illegal) cracks, etc here, as it clearly says in our forum rules. Please don't offer any information, links or other means to suggest/point anyone to obtaining them. Doing so again will earn you further warnings and/or temporary or permanent bans.

Senko, it's possible the SimPE edit caused the problem, even if it affected different sims. Keep in mind, any edit you do on sims in SimPE risks affecting the memories of other sims in games, which can cause borkages. This is why they always suggest you back up your game before doing anything in SimPE, just in case it results in a corrupt file.

If you want to take coffeeTime's suggestion, then please realize you do so at your own risk and support won't be able to be given here, since cd-cracks of any kind are not exactly legal.

What you might have to do is back up your downloads and sims and do a clean reinstall. It's an ouch move, I know (one I've had to do myself a few times), but you might have to do this if nothing else is working (loading a game without downloads, deleting cache files, etc, bypassing the launcher, etc).
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 12:25:42 am by caffeinated.joy » Logged

Everybody should believe something.
I believe I'll have more coffee.
coffeeTime
Member

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2012, 03:18:09 am »

Sorry, I hadn't noticed.


SenkoTwiik
If it is sucuROM that's the problem and you are going to play with the disk in, then you may need to uninstall any disk burning programs that are on your computer. Ours came with Roxio and we used it to put our kids photos on a disk. It was this (legal) programme that the FT patch disliked. So uninstalling any type of burning program and using the unofficial FT patch from MATY would also be another way to try. You will have sucuROM on your computer, but I believe it will be a less intensive form.  Again this is only if sucuROM is the problem. Many people never have trouble with it.
Logged
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2012, 07:01:00 pm »

I uninstalled everything, then reinstalled The Sims 2, and University.
But now, when I am trying to reinstall all of my other EPs, there is a problem with the AutoRun. It won't autorun the disk.

and it says
c:\autorun.exe
d:\autorun.exe
c:/autorun.exe
d:/autorun.exe

are all invalid paths. Any ideas?
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
caffeinated.joy
Queen of Caffeine
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 18280



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2012, 07:35:56 pm »

Try turning off your antivirus and firewall. Sometimes either or both can interfere with installing software.

You might have to access the CD through explorer and double click on the setup.exe file if the autorun file on that disc is corrupted.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 08:21:34 pm by caffeinated.joy » Logged

Everybody should believe something.
I believe I'll have more coffee.
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2012, 08:18:33 pm »

I have my firewall off.
But I have avast (free) and have no idea at all how to turn it off.
Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
caffeinated.joy
Queen of Caffeine
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 18280



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2012, 08:24:20 pm »

Can't you just right click icon in your taskbar and see if there's an option to stop/start it?
Logged

Everybody should believe something.
I believe I'll have more coffee.
Pierre
Retiered from the sims2
Member

Posts: 1444



View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2012, 08:33:22 pm »

Did you check to see if your anti virus program is not blocking your sims2 game because of a hidden virus, me my sims 2 was block by my avg anti virus saying that i had 2 eps that contain virus but i no longer have this problem anymore. And in term of loading your game i had a similiar problem with my mansion and garden ep and the solution i took to fix it was to do a full reboot of my computer and then loaded my game and it loaded just fine. Wink
Logged

Please do not pm me about happysimmers this site has been close now if you need any thing please look up this forum thank youhttp://delightfulsims.net/index.php
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2012, 08:42:51 pm »

Okay, now my antivirus and firewall are off.
That brought autorun back.
Let's see if the game will install.

UPDATE:
The autorun comes up, but the game never runs even when I click autorun.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 08:49:42 pm by SenkoTwiik » Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
caffeinated.joy
Queen of Caffeine
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 18280



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2012, 09:13:16 pm »

Did you try accessing the CD through Explorer and double clicking the exe file?
Logged

Everybody should believe something.
I believe I'll have more coffee.
SenkoTwiik
Carnival Freakshow
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1592



View Profile
« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2012, 09:39:15 am »

I messed with my computer last night and I got autorun to come back AND work. So I have

Sims 2
Seasons
University
Bon Voyage

installed properly.

For some reason, with Nightlife, while installing it, the installation always gets stuck at 26% and I don't know why that is. I need a little help on this one.

With Open for Business, the autorun came up, but the game didn't play. This was yesterday, though and I haven't tried it since.

As for the other EPs, I'm going to try them out today.

Joy, by explorer, do you mean Internet Explorer, or the computer C: paths mentioned before?

UPDATE:
Open for Business worked this morning, and so did Pets, now I am trying Freetime.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2012, 10:16:27 am by SenkoTwiik » Logged

Let He who is without sin...kick the first arse.

My Girls: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,108744.0.html
My site: http://voodoonightmares.freeforums.org/
Theraven
The Bird Queen
Super Mod
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 5037


Permanently distracted by Something Shiny


View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2012, 10:34:35 am »

explorer.exe is one of the programs that makes windows run (spesifically, the user interface). I've had it crashing a couple of times and the desktop icons disappeared...

If you can install the games, then I doubt it's the disk itself.

I think joy means the task manager. Either ctrl-alt-delete to get it up, or (with win7) right-click the task bar. You can run programs directly with it. Under "programs", choose "new task" and write in the name of the program itself (such as explorer.exe for explorer, or sims2ep6.exe for Bon Voyage)


Or she is talking about the path to the exe file for the game
C:\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 Bon Voyage\TSBin\Sims2EP6.exe  (as Bon Voyage seems to be your latest)
Try clicking on this file and see if your game starts then.

Not sure if you said it, but which operative system do you run? (XP/Vista/win7/MacOS/Linux/etc...)
And which antivirusprogram do you use?
Logged

My site:

Little Fire Burning - Chapter 85 out

~Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain~
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.109 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1