Insimenator.org
January 25, 2021, 08:13:06 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Insim's annual Donation Drive is on! Click here for info and to toss some money our way.
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Should Sims2 be lagging with my spec's?  (Read 1395 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
exportdry
Member

Posts: 142



View Profile
« on: February 24, 2007, 04:55:40 am »

My sims2 game lags bad at the start then goes fine with little slow downs here and there.
I have all 4 EP's
Graphic detail on nearly everything is set to medium.
defragged the hard drive etc...
My drivers are all up to date and it still lags.

Here's my specs:
P4 2.4Ghz 533FSB CPU
Gigabyte nVidia 7600GS 256mb 128bit AGP 8x
1GB PC3200 and 2x 256 PC2700 RAM (1.5GB)
Asus P4P800 SE Motherboard
160GB WD SATA
80GB WD PATA


Does anyone know where the problem lies?

Please help.
Logged

oph3lia
Member

Posts: 353



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2007, 08:51:55 am »

How much custom content have you got?
Logged

[insert interesting and witty signature here]

**My Sims**

My MTS2 profile|My Sims 2 website (Currently empty)
exportdry
Member

Posts: 142



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2007, 02:22:17 am »

I have a fiar bit of custom content.
Couldn't say how much I have.
Logged

BeosBoxBoy
Silent

Gender: Male
Posts: 5021



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2007, 07:38:38 am »

exportdry - you would probably benefit from increasing your RAM to 2 GB of 3200 DDR

But without knowing what sort of additional software is in the background, I can only give a vague answer of "it stands to reason"
Logged

"There is a certain elegance in wasting time. Any fool can waste money, but when you waste time you waste what is priceless."
-- Maugham, W. Somerset. Ashenden: Or the British Agent.
ancienthighway
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2977


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2007, 10:29:08 am »

With a lot of custom content, loading time for the game will be slow no matter what your system looks like.  128kb video and 1.4gb RAM should give you pretty decent performance one the game is loaded, but if you can bump up the RAM as BBB suggests.
Logged
exportdry
Member

Posts: 142



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2007, 01:44:40 am »

Yeah the performance is good once it has loaded.

I just added a Audigy 2 ZS sound card to my system which has given me back some FPS.

Thanks people I'll get another 1GB DDR400 so I can run my other 1Gig in dual channel which I was planning on doing anyway & see what happens then.
As some computer hardware can be found relativley cheap where I live.
I have no other applications running when this game is going.

Would I benefit much from getting a 3.0G 800FSB CPU in the way of gaming perfomance?

I placed a thread about this on MTS2 and most of the people who replied  treated first time loading lag as normal.

I have 282Mb of custom content in my downloads at the moment.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 01:47:34 am by exportdry » Logged

Micco
Member

Posts: 565


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2007, 02:32:30 pm »

Quote from: exportdry;599043
Would I benefit much from getting a 3.0G 800FSB CPU in the way of gaming perfomance?
A faster CPU always helps. Just make sure you know if you need socket 478 or 775 when you go to buy.
Logged

Woohoo U is now CLOSED.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.101 seconds with 29 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1