Insimenator.org
August 15, 2022, 07:20:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Oh, the horror!  (Read 2569 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
marilynj72
Member

Posts: 25



View Profile
« on: March 01, 2007, 02:27:02 am »

This is actually my first time posting here. So it's nice to meet everyone.
Anyways, I just got Seasons today and after backing up my files, like a good girl, and I messed around with the game a little not really much though as it is now 2am and i installed the game around 9pm-ish. I did notice that I, too have graphic problems, but that didn't really concern me at the time. I removed my whole downloads folder (which contains 16256 files, someone was bragging about their 4000-ish files somewhere) and went into the game I was looking for the stuff to build a greenhouse and was going to play around with stuff, after not being able to find the stuff for the greenhouse in build mode which is where I assumed it would be. I gave up and decided it was time to put my downloads back into the game to see if maybe by some miracle I wouldn't have a problem with the game and everything would work beautifully. Of course, not, but I still had to see how bad it could be.  So, this is what happened, I clicked on a house and the screen froze, Of course I tried this on more than one house waiting the 15-ish minutes it takes to load up my game each time just to have the screen freeze on me each time.

Obviously, I have a hack that doesn't agree with the new EP.
So, I guess tomorrow I will have to sort through all my hacks and find out what is causing the problem and with everything I have it could be more than one thing and probably is.
So, goodnight for now.
Logged
Cinamun
Member

Posts: 440



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 02:42:05 am »

Tomorrow my plan is to add my hairs eyes and skins.. I have already some hairs and eyes in seasons. Then on to custom furniture.. and so on and so on until finally all that remains are hacks and mods, then I will add them one by one to see what problems arise. I have around 10,000 files in my downloads folder and I am sooooooo dreading the clean up LOL Good luck!
Logged

...enjoying the game.
Twinmum
Member

Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 09:54:40 pm »

In case you haven't found them yet, the greenhouse bits are in a new section in the garden section of build mode
Logged
poisonedsodapop
Member

Posts: 46


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2007, 10:09:26 pm »

I managed to survive keeping in all my mods but inteen and no glitches at all. I went to the new neighborhood in case i had pregnant teens in my main but aside from that no issues. I even use some of the simple parts of insim, but I wouldn't suggest it. You should actually remove ALL of your mods except those that are sure to work with the base game, unless you're crazy like me :rabbit:.
Logged

marilynj72
Member

Posts: 25



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2007, 11:14:27 pm »

I'm pretty crazy, I'll probably keep what I can in the game.
I think the problem I had with it freezing is a different story though. I still have to test it some more but I think it's just being really slow because I took out all m hacks and left all my other custom content in there and it did the same thing...it froze when I clicked on a house but after waiting about a minute or so it actually went to the family info and I was able to get into my house.
So, I'm not sure what exactly is going on there...maybe it has something to do with the graphics problem I'm having so I'm going to work on that first.
Logged
XPTL297
Member

Posts: 564


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2007, 05:10:13 am »

It is exactly what I had when I installed Pets on my small comp. I played less than 5 minutes and all got frozen. Nothing got better afterwards, so the little one will be kept for office work.
Logged
marilynj72
Member

Posts: 25



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2007, 04:33:20 pm »

Quote from: XPTL297;605425
It is exactly what I had when I installed Pets on my small comp. I played less than 5 minutes and all got frozen. Nothing got better afterwards, so the little one will be kept for office work.


Okay,
well I'm going to see about getting a new video card tomorrow, but I don't know if that's why my neighborhood screen is freezing up on me, nor can I find out what video card/chip I have, but I tried boolProp UseShaders true to see if I could get my fish back in the fishtank which I just noticed were missing (because I read somewhere here that someone was having that same problem and they couldn't see the fish in the ponds either) and that didn't work it just made everything all yucky looking.

I have an IBM computer with windows xp, 200GB hardrive, 1024MB memory and intel celeron processor. that's all I know, unless someone can tell me how I can find out what video card/chip I have? I thought since I recently (just before the pets EP) had the 200GB hardrive put into my computer that I would be all set for a while with new expansion packs. I have all the other EP's as well and around 16000 files in my downloads folder. I don't have any other games installed on this computer and the only thing I download is Sims2 stuff.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.054 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1