Insimenator.org
July 04, 2022, 01:16:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Default skin help?  (Read 1936 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Care
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 589


contimplation or constipation?


View Profile WWW
« on: March 22, 2007, 12:20:44 pm »

I use louis skins as default skintones, but the darkest shade is showing up another skintone. I must have uploaded another default with a packaged sim? It's the only thing i can think of... But now I cannot find another defualt skin in my downloads folder & have no idea what the name of the package would be. Anyone have any suggestions on how to find it without totally deleting everything and starting over??

Ty Care-
Logged

billyd1000
Member

Posts: 196


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 12:34:45 pm »

Well, I guess you could move your Downloads folder to your desktop. Then create a new Downloads folder and put the default skins you use in it. Then start moving the other skintones slowly in until you find the one that conflicts. Really the best way to avoid a problem like this is using clean installer to install sims and pay very CAREFUL attention to the cc you give permission to. Of course that's a mute point, right? So the method I suggested should work eventually. I hope you do not have many to try. I only have about 15 or so total in game and that includes my default replacements. Good luck. Perhaps some one else may have a better suggestion.
Logged

Burn the midnight oil, it will be daylight soon....
Care
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 589


contimplation or constipation?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 12:41:14 pm »

the problem with that is that defaults dont show up as the labled skintone catagory in clean installer they have no catagory like meshes etc....
I have alot of that stuff.... I guess I live with it till i feel like starting over LOL... Yeah I know it's my fault I usually pay better attention but not this time....

ty
Logged

blueplayer
Member

Posts: 116



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 03:52:10 pm »

They dont show up as the labled skintone but they still have a picture with the skintone and louis default skintones are labeled default check again this time take your defaults out first then scan. any skintone not recognized delete. remember skintones always come in large MB so that will help, look for it by size. check only large sizes usually 2mb up. defaults are more.:happy8: hope that helps
Logged

billyd1000
Member

Posts: 196


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2007, 04:26:14 pm »

Care, I use some old skins for defaults simply because I like them. As popular as louis' are you should be able to redownload them. Put them in the new Downloads folder and start moving skins. If you try to move one of louis' in it should ask if you want to overwrite file. The thing that surprises me is that they do not say default in clean installer. Mine do, so even though the description is not so great I know they are the defaults. Good luck! Smiley
Logged

Burn the midnight oil, it will be daylight soon....
Care
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 589


contimplation or constipation?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2007, 07:36:51 pm »

I looked at all the packages seperatly I didn't even see another skintone so I am not sure now thanks for ur input I will figure it out eventually....
Logged

BeosBoxBoy
Silent

Gender: Male
Posts: 5021



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2007, 01:12:40 pm »

Care - if the louis defaults you have downloaded are the ones from MTS2 the names should be something like:

Default Dark (Dark).package
Default Light (Light).package
Default Medium (Medium).package
Default Tan (Tan).package


The name is what they replace - in this you can have one and only one per colour (dark, light, medium, tan) -- if you have multiples, this will cause an issue like you describe.

In this Sims2Pack Clean Installer is not going to be any help - however the old fashion look and see will be of enormous benefit.
Logged

"There is a certain elegance in wasting time. Any fool can waste money, but when you waste time you waste what is priceless."
-- Maugham, W. Somerset. Ashenden: Or the British Agent.
Care
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 589


contimplation or constipation?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2007, 11:41:50 pm »

yes those are the ones I have I know what they are named... I recently downloaded a few sims one must of been packaged with another default skin and I didnt pay any attention.. I know you can only have 1 per color etc.. Yeah I am just going to have to start over again no big deal will figure it out eventually.. Just takes time and wanted to know if anyone had any faster idea's...

ty for ur input..
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.057 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1