Insimenator.org
March 19, 2024, 12:49:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Meshes from other games: possible to convert to the Sims?  (Read 2267 times)
0 Members and 1 Chinese Bot are viewing this topic.
ísarah

View Profile
« on: March 15, 2008, 10:07:40 pm »

I found these meshes and textures and want to put the tanks and the uniforms into the Sims to make a war movie. Is it possible to take clothing meshes & objects from another game and convert them for use in the Sims 2? Sorry if I'm a noob.. :smt120

:smt120
BlooM

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 01:04:52 am »

objects is good possible but clothing meshes is just insane to start with.
But i dont see any meshes in the thread.

No longer active
BeosBoxBoy
Silent

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2008, 10:54:15 am »

clothing is possible.... let me stress possible, but not a lot of fun to convert -- the problem here arises from the differences in the animation skeletons and level of detail in the mesh -- texture mapping can also be a serious problem.

Objects, well those are easier, but there is no 100% here.  Some objects in a game like the one in the link you provide have animation morphs and animation bones that will be impossible to replicate in The Sims 2 without a great deal of personal suffering.  For instance if you wanted to convert a tank from that game into a drivable car in The Sims 2, you'd need to figure out how to make it so the sims could enter the vehicle -- they certainly couldn't climb the vehicle then crawl down an access hatch since the necessary animations simply do not exist in The Sims 2.