Insimenator.org
September 25, 2022, 03:43:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 ?'s  (Read 1746 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Belongstoasailor
Member

Posts: 54


View Profile WWW
« on: April 07, 2008, 04:39:20 pm »

1st - Dumb question:

Can you change the name of a Sim with the Insimenator?  I was trying to get a girl and accidentally chose YES to do you want to save and I now have Baby Boy X. Duh.

2nd - Dumb question:

Is there any known reason as to why my game is glitching big time when the sim goes to have a baby?  It freezes, then kind of hiccups, then freezes, then the music plays and finally I get the screen to name the baby.  It also happens with the first Woohoo.  Could there be something messed up in the video part of my game?

I'm not running any mods right now, but I do have a ton of CC.  

Thanks for your time! Cheesy
Logged

* Britt *
Proud USN Wife

:love6:
dynasty
Member

Posts: 248



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 04:49:54 pm »

yes, you can change the childs name with the insimenator.
Logged

Check my sims out!
Belongstoasailor
Member

Posts: 54


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 04:51:00 pm »

Thank you!  I couldn't remember...
Logged

* Britt *
Proud USN Wife

:love6:
caffeinated.joy
Queen of Caffeine
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 18280



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2008, 04:56:48 pm »

The more CC you have, the more of your computer resources it demands. If you have no mods, then it's probably just something you'll have to put up with unless you're willing to say goodbye to some of your CC, or lower your game's setting so it puts less demand on your computer. In short, your choices would be to put up with it, sacrifice some of your cc, or sacrifice game video quality for smoother play.
Logged

Everybody should believe something.
I believe I'll have more coffee.
Belongstoasailor
Member

Posts: 54


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2008, 04:59:40 pm »

My husband has been harping on me to do something with my overwhelming sim's folder.  I guess I should sacrifice some CC.  Sad
Logged

* Britt *
Proud USN Wife

:love6:
kokozas
Member

Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 06:48:23 pm »

Get a secong & bigger hard drive, they're not so expensive these days and then you can download another 200 gigs.
Logged
MissDoh
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 1899


Back for more!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 08:40:53 pm »

It is not a question of hard drive size and how much freespace you have available (though it counts a bit too), it is mostly a question of how much RAM you have and what is your videocard memory.

Getting rid of some cc like suggested will help since the game loads each one of it when it starts even if you do not use it which is taking a lot of memory.

To help having a game running smooth, the best is too have no more than half of your computer memory in cc.

So for example if you have 1 gig of RAM, you should not have more than 500meg of cc if you want your game to run smooth and load fast.  Depending on the videocard you have, some cc (mostly objects) have higher polygons counts then others which can be hard on your videocard.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 08:45:57 pm by MissDoh » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.056 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1