Insimenator.org
September 20, 2019, 03:23:59 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: InSim's annual Donation Drive is under way! Click here for more info and to donate!
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Wizards of SimPE Recoloring Tutorial  (Read 14206 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
kathy
TRAITOR
Member

Posts: 14248

Rotten traitor


View Profile
« on: August 29, 2005, 07:34:07 pm »

Hi I decided to make a new object recoloring tutorial. This tutorial is compatiable with the latest version of SimPE. I will try to be as clear as possible but if you have any problems or questions please let me know.
 
Ok first on the bottom leftt hand side of your screen click start (or where ever you have it). Go to programs. Scroll down until you see SimPE and click it and select Wizards of SimPE.

 
Ok now that the Wizards of SimPE has loaded you should have a screen like so

 
Now click on the link that says recolors and it will begin to load all of the Maxis items. Note it does not load custom content not made by Maxis however I will do a brief tutorial for that. You will notice it is a little slow loading but a progress bar on the bottom left corner will track the progress of loading the objects.
 
Now you should have a screen like this....

 
Now simply select the object you wish to recolor and click next.

 
Ok now you will appear at the next screen. I used the colonial bed as my example. You will see the Default Maxis bedframes and comforters. Select a bedframe and blanket and click next. Or you can do each one seperate so if someone wants to delete the one without deleting them both they can.

 
Ok now select the texture which you wish to recolor first and click export. Select which texture to export- name this texture and ssave it to your desktop.... minimize simpe and open that png file in the art program of your choice.... color it with your new design and save..... when you are done coloring go back into simpe and hit import and it will change to your new texture file. Repeat this on the next texture file if there is one and then click next. Make sure you save the file as a .png!!!

 
Now you will name your package file and it will be saved to your downloads folder and thats it. You have now recolored an object!

 
I have also included a version for you to download as well.

* recoloring_wizards_of_simpe_tutorial_166.rar (3758.23 KB - downloaded 501 times.)

* untitled-2_copy_606.jpg (148.69 KB, 686x596 - viewed 2133 times.)

* untitled-4_copy_468.jpg (73.06 KB, 674x550 - viewed 2168 times.)

* untitled-6_copy_834.jpg (155.92 KB, 635x542 - viewed 2133 times.)

* untitled-8_copy_878.jpg (159.17 KB, 630x550 - viewed 2148 times.)

* untitled-112_copy_183.jpg (112.34 KB, 636x547 - viewed 2129 times.)

* untitled-114_copy_332.jpg (85.25 KB, 630x542 - viewed 2078 times.)

* untitled-116_copy_127.jpg (68.69 KB, 633x545 - viewed 2039 times.)
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 09:13:23 am by kathy » Logged
Empornium
Member

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2005, 08:17:00 pm »

Most gracious of you Kathy thank you for taking the time and effort to make this easy for me
Logged
Vampyre
Member

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2005, 01:19:37 am »

I've been using the Photo Studio that comes with SimPE for the longest time.  Lately I have been wondering how to go about diversifying the frame colors.

  After reading the tutorial I had a new recolor including the frame done in a few minutes.

  Excellently clear.
Logged
nova-storm
Member

Posts: 431



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 02:36:39 am »

OK I get that part. BUT when I try to do Art work suck and Lady in red. I says this Item can not be recolord YET. I know I have to go int to simPE and change somthing BUt BUt BUt I cant memebr what!!  :cry:
Logged

:happy8:A closed mouth gathers no foot. :smile:
resistance is futile you will be assimilated
kathy
TRAITOR
Member

Posts: 14248

Rotten traitor


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2005, 03:02:46 am »

You know what message me tomorrow and I'll walk you through it but I will also make a quick tutorial on pictures this weekend.
Logged
nova-storm
Member

Posts: 431



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2005, 01:11:13 pm »

ok Tongue
Logged

:happy8:A closed mouth gathers no foot. :smile:
resistance is futile you will be assimilated
nova-storm
Member

Posts: 431



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2005, 09:47:43 pm »

OK miss Smarty! Now when I poen SimPe and try to load an object it gives me a outofmemory error? Can you fix that? HUH HUH!!!!
Bet you cant!!!
 :daisy:
Logged

:happy8:A closed mouth gathers no foot. :smile:
resistance is futile you will be assimilated
kathy
TRAITOR
Member

Posts: 14248

Rotten traitor


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2005, 04:11:44 am »

Rebooot my child rofl....Seriously try rebooting and I'll do some futher checking to see why you are having your issues.
Logged
nova-storm
Member

Posts: 431



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2005, 06:17:42 pm »

I diiiiiiid I diiiiiid, lol no go! Wink
 Cheesy
Logged

:happy8:A closed mouth gathers no foot. :smile:
resistance is futile you will be assimilated
kathy
TRAITOR
Member

Posts: 14248

Rotten traitor


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2005, 12:21:42 am »

uhm Redownload the following from SimPEs site.

Microsoft .NET Framework Version 1.1
Managed Direct X 9c
Logged
MellieC
Member

Posts: 69



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2006, 10:59:51 am »

I realize this is somewhat of an old thread but I just have to say something...  

Kathy, you RULE!!  Thanks so much for this.
Logged

Any J Rock fans here?  If so, I could use some critquing. Smiley
Click Here
The Mule
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 652


Beast of Burden


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2006, 05:13:50 pm »

Kathy - in the 6th picture there's a toggle box to export alpha...I tried this - then I edited the alpha (at least I hope I did) but how do you import the alpha back in? It imported my alpha back in as the texture, which wasn't the desired affect I was looking for. Can it be done in Wizzard or is there another way it has to be done....thanks
Logged

Yes...its the same Mule as before
MsMacDugle
Member

Posts: 408


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2007, 05:45:11 pm »

Oooh, bravo & thank you for pointing out that I have those wizards...I'll be customizing in no time.
Logged

:welcome: Hello, I'm a sims addict:group hu: ...I can change, if I have to I guess, but I don't wanna :coffee:DeBRA
Zephyrash
Member

Posts: 410


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2007, 01:09:14 pm »

Thanks Kathy, I think I have the idea now that I see it in pictures. I appreciate you so much.
Logged
dustmitebunny
Member

Posts: 5



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2007, 03:58:05 am »

Oooh, a toddler-language step by step idiot proof guide... This is the only tutorial that hasn't got me completely confused and glaring at my computer monitor... Maybe the visualization aids helped... Thank you!
Logged

If the world is a stage and we all have roles in it, why did I get the part 'psycho'?
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.079 seconds with 37 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1