Insimenator.org
October 05, 2022, 07:32:36 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Teleport bug fix?  (Read 3771 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« on: September 25, 2008, 07:19:37 am »

Hey there Squinge Smiley

I don't know if you fix bugs like this, but I've found a very annoying one regarding sims that can teleport - I found out it was an EAxian bug after browsing through MATY. Any sim that can teleport, either by ninja or spell, can no longer walk past slopes - they get stuck and need to be teleported away.

Is it possible for this to get fixed please? Pescado just says to teleport them where needed, but we shouldn't have to.

I personally have all up to AL, but not everyone with this problem has.

Thanks in advance Smiley
Logged

No requests please
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 10:24:41 am »

Oh yes, even I have that problem too. I'll get him to look at this today and see what kind of magic he can do to fix this one.

I did recall having this issue with my Sims teleporting after they learned the skill from the Ninja and then I sent them to Twikkii Island to their vacation home.

Should have a reply from him later today about it.
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
Squinge
Spamming Dork
Admin
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5704



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 02:42:20 pm »

I will check into this and get back to you Smiley
Logged

If you have a question about my mods post it here
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 03:38:18 pm »

Thanks so much Cheesy
Logged

No requests please
Jenna
Queen of Spamming
Admin
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 3587


Who farted?


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 09:38:53 pm »

*hides quietly in the shadows*
Logged

Quote from: Engram
Jenna and I make cute babbiez! LOL
Quote from: Isadora
Great, another night of chicken chair typing.
Squinge
Spamming Dork
Admin
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5704



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2008, 02:27:50 pm »

I have checked the code & I don't see what is causing this problem.
I will let you know if I figure it out Smiley
Logged

If you have a question about my mods post it here
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2008, 04:27:19 pm »

Thanks for trying Smiley

Is there some kind of weird check being done for "can sim teleport" or something? :oogle:
Logged

No requests please
Squinge
Spamming Dork
Admin
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5704



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2008, 04:52:41 pm »

Your welcome & I didn't see anything in the test for can teleport or the teleport function but I will keep looking Smiley
Logged

If you have a question about my mods post it here
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2008, 07:44:00 pm »

Hmm.. I just find it weird that only certain sims are affected like this. If it helps though, everyone else who's reported this problem says it's only after they have teleported at least once, and that's certainly when mine started acting strange like that; maybe a token or controller gets assigned that interferes with slopes? :dontknow:
Logged

No requests please
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2008, 08:42:40 pm »

Yes, I had the same problem with my Sims not being able to walk up or down the slopes of their vacation beach homes. I heard some people reported that their Sims could not go into the houses or anywhere else on their lots.

And that is after they learn the teleport skill from the Ninja and teleport once. I did not like Pescado's answer to this issue because I still think it is a bug.

I didn't realize that the witches could be affected or not because they have a teleport spell.
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2008, 09:57:42 pm »

No, I didn't like his answer either, that's why I posted the request here. It's definitely a bug, and I find it ironic that he's saying "teleport them away" when one of the things the glitch poses problems for, is his Macrotastics as they don't always teleport to do their errands...

And yes, the witches are definitely affected - experience talking. I had problems with two sims after they'd teleported; one learnt from the ninja, the other is an evil witch. I have a good wizard in the game now, and I suspect that I'll be running macrotastics on his wife instead :?
Logged

No requests please
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2008, 04:56:53 am »

Okay, here's the latest:

Just to make things awkward, the bug's inconsistent. I have four sims now (one of which has died) who can/could teleport. Three of them live(d) on a beach lot, where the problems started, the other one lives on a custom summer house lot where there are a lot of gentle slopes.

The one on a custom lot is an evil witch, and she can't get to the carpool or take out the rubbish without getting stuck. The one who died was the one who learned from the ninja, and she couldn't get onto the beach. The other two are white wizards, and although I haven't tried with the youngest yet, the older one - who's teleported a few times now - happily ambled onto the sand to watch the waves.

Very weird :oogle:
Logged

No requests please
Chaavik
Got Blood?
Super Mod
*****
Posts: 2963


Criminal Mastermind


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2008, 06:11:23 pm »

I am wondering if the Teleport token(s) is/are bugged because it seemed  logical that the problem happened after the Sim learned the teleport skill from the Ninja and have been on a beach (walking down to the water the first time).
 
Something to think about and find out.
Logged

"Humor.. It is a difficult concept.. It is not logical.." - Lt. Saavik, Star Trek: Wrath of Khan
Dancing Squirrels
Don't PM me with demands/requests. Make them here.
Come play Aetolia with us!
Squinge
Spamming Dork
Admin
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5704



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2008, 06:14:09 pm »

Good question although I'm not sure if I can figure out if it is or not, lol
Logged

If you have a question about my mods post it here
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.064 seconds with 31 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1