Insimenator.org
April 19, 2024, 06:57:04 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: adding texture/uv-mapping "all-age" accessories  (Read 3648 times)
0 Members and 1 Chinese Bot are viewing this topic.
Theraven
The Bird Queen
Admin

Currently distracted by Something Shiny

View Profile WWW
« on: October 24, 2008, 03:37:46 pm »

hello Smiley

I'm very new to meshing and making objects to sims2 (I know how to mesh, but that's pretty much it) and now I'm wondering about a few things.

I'm trying to make an accessory for all ages  - but I'm totally new when it comes to using milkshape, and can't really figure out how to UVmap the texture - or how to put a texture on it at all (I'm new to UV mapping too - but I can do it with simple meshes, and the one I've got is quite simple).

I cloned an all-age accessory, and put my own mesh on top. I know I have to scale it for child and toddler - but I found a perfect cloning mesh for this, that tells me about how much I have to scale, and where I have to move the mesh for it to go to the correct place. But now I'm unsure whether the meshes needs different UV maps - or if I can use the same for all the ages - and how to do that at all.

I'm one of those people that usually have troubles putting together things in new ways (aka. reading a tutorial, and use it in a new way) - and all the different tutorials are really confusing me, since none of those I've found tells me anything sensible. (though, if there's a tutorial out there that explains this in a good way, then I might figure it out somehow - I've come so far without much use of a tutorial...)