Insimenator.org
October 16, 2019, 07:15:39 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: InSim's annual Donation Drive is under way! Click here for more info and to donate!
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Small TUT, no more cloning!!! Adding new groups to a mesh for outfits/hair  (Read 15895 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
BlooM
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« on: June 28, 2007, 11:00:39 pm »

I know this works for outfits and hair(tried both)but im almost convinst it works for any category.

Never found a tut on how to add more groups to a mesh then the tut HP at MTS2 made, wich is a very complicated and frustrating procedure.

I use this method to add more groups to my meshes/outfits wich allows me to use more shoes in one mesh, more alpha's etc.


*make a new recolor in bodyshop

*make your mesh(write down the names of the extra groups you added)

*open your recolor

*In the GZPS (Property Set) in Plugin View, select the numoverrides line, and change the value to the total number of groups in your mesh – add the number of groups you are adding to the existing value.

*Look down in the list and find the last override#shape entry. Select it, and then click Add. This will clone it at the bottom of the list. Change the name to add 1 to the number… i.e. if the last item was override2shape, and you cloned that, then change the name to override3shape. Leave the Type (dtUinteger) and value (0x00000000) parts alone

*Look in the list and find the last override#subset entry. Select it, and then click Add. This will clone it at the bottom of the list. Change the name to add 1 to the number, to match the override#shape entry you just did. Leave the Type (dtString) alone, but under value, change it to the name of the first extra group you added in milkshape.

*Now select the last override#resourcekeyidx entry, then click Add. Again, this will clone it at the bottom of the list. Change the name to add 1 to the number, to match the override#shape and override#subset entries you just did. Again, leave the type (dtUInteger) alone.
Dont change the value of the line number!!!!!
leave it as it is, this way it will copy the matdefinations and the requiered texture images from your original groups.
That's why they named it resourcekeyidx Cheesy

*Repeat the 3 above steps for your other groups you added, if you have more then one.

*Run your recolor again through bodyshop
As you will see, bodyshop will generate all necesarry files for your extra groups and will give them their correct names.
It will use the resourcekeyidx from your original groups.(and the names you entered)
When you open your new recolor in simpe you will see the value of the line number is changed at the resourcekeyidx.
Attache your mesh to the package and go fix the textures in bodyshop Smiley
It will save you ALOT of frustration and work Wink

NOTE:
Few lines i copied from the tut from HP at MTS2 but the most important ones are from the comments i gave to that tut. Wink
If you want to apply the skintone to a extra group you added, you have to change the value of the overrideresourcekeyidx
in the same number of a already excisting group that has the skintone(simskin) in its settings.(the body/top or bottom for excample)
If you adding groups that are going to be alpha's, you have to check the mat.def.settings and look if the ''cMaterialdefination'' is set to SimStandardMaterial instead of Simskin.(do this after you you have created a new recolor with the updated files)
If you want to use the transparancy on your alpha groups you have to change the ''stdMatAlphaBlendMode'' to blend instead of none, you find it under properties.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2007, 11:41:35 am by BlooM » Logged

No longer active
PegasusDiana
Member

Posts: 2328


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2007, 08:27:07 am »

OK you totally lost me, but that's ok I saved it anyway for when I get more experience. Then I'll be able to understand this simlish you speak. lol I did three tutorials today, I'll do a few tomorrow then go back and do them all again. I want to make sure I know both programs and am comfortable working in them. I'm also doing Katy's tuts for making new animations, and coding. I'm learning all kinds of neat tricks in Milkshape, so I'll get there, slowwwly but surely.
Logged

We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another.
                                         -Luciano de Crescenzo
gelydh
Member

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2007, 03:35:47 pm »

THANK YOU! This is exactly what I was looking for, The HP tutorial on MTS2 was far too hair-centric for what I was attempting to do, so once again, thanks SO much. Smiley
Logged
BeosBoxBoy
Silent

Gender: Male
Posts: 5021



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2007, 06:26:11 am »

you know - i really need to read more of your posts Bloom >_<

I have been off one my own psychotic adventure trying to figure out this very thing - totally not aware you had posted a tutorial >_<

God I need more sleep >_<
Logged

"There is a certain elegance in wasting time. Any fool can waste money, but when you waste time you waste what is priceless."
-- Maugham, W. Somerset. Ashenden: Or the British Agent.
BlooM
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2007, 06:53:33 am »

I found it out by accident tho, after many many frustrating attempts.
HP also updated after i posted at her tut.
She did a bit more research bout the resourcekeyidx.
Logged

No longer active
Nouk
Member

Posts: 272



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2007, 02:05:24 pm »

Will this add bumpmapping for the newly added groups as well, if the original has a bumpmap? Or has an alpa with bumpies?  Hoping I don't have to do that by hand :O
Logged

BlooM
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2007, 02:46:21 pm »

yup, if the group that you copy the settings from has them, then bodyshop will generate also the normalmap(bump)
Logged

No longer active
Nouk
Member

Posts: 272



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2007, 03:37:20 pm »

YAY thank you very much, Bloom Cheesy
Logged

MixdCrysy
Creator
*****
Posts: 821



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2007, 08:46:25 pm »

BlooM, I can thank you enough, for this tut, for everything... Cheesy
Logged

Checkout my Creations & Please read  My Policy , thank you in advance.
exportdry
Member

Posts: 142



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2008, 07:00:09 am »

I expected you had a tutorial for adding groups, just couldn't find it.
I knew the changes had to be made in the GZPS and had something to do with the override part.
I had a little fiddle with it but ended up doing something wrong.

Thankyou for posting the link for me.
I will definitely benefit from this tutorial.
Logged

BlooM
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2008, 07:45:56 am »

Some one(forgot his name) asked me if he could make a tutorial for TSR explained with screenshots and all.
I know he finished it but i dont have the link.
Logged

No longer active
ceruleanpheonix
Member

Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2008, 10:07:58 pm »

:worship: Thank you Bloom, I was able to add the groups and get the transparency working but I can see the other side when looking through it. I read somewhere that you need to make the inside of the dress take a texture as well. How do I do that?
Logged
gelydh
Member

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2008, 12:11:18 pm »

Quote from: BlooM;1148226
Some one(forgot his name) asked me if he could make a tutorial for TSR explained with screenshots and all.
I know he finished it but i dont have the link.


*waves* That would be me. Smiley Link's here in case anyone can benefit from it. :study:

Quote from: ceruleanpheonix;1173287
:worship: Thank you Bloom, I was able to add the groups and get the transparency working but I can see the other side when looking through it. I read somewhere that you need to make the inside of the dress take a texture as well. How do I do that?


First, make sure the 'inner' dress is a different group than the 'outer' dress. For whatever reason, making them both one group causes Weird Issues. For me anyway. As long as you have a different group for the inner and outer dress, if you name them the same in Milkshape (i.e. 'body_alpha'), when you follow this technique, Bodyshop will spawn a single texture that will be applied to both sides of the dress when you recolor. This limits the number of textures you need to work with, and is especially helpful if you won't see the inner part very often. Hope that helps! Lord knows why I wrote a tutorial when I feel I have trouble explaining things... :doh:
Logged
BlooM
Member

Gender: Male
Posts: 2980


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2008, 04:55:57 pm »

Are you meshing Ceru? Smiley

gelydh is right but if you are making a new mesh in milkshape i strongly recomment to forget the inside textures for the moment.
Make absolutly sure your mesh is working properly, animated, uvmapped etc etc.
When you are completly satisfied then you copy the parts that need inside textures, you hide the original, reveert faces and alligne normals.
Then you have 2 options:
*Giving that group the same inside textures as the outside then rename the group exactly the same as the one for outside textures(the original)
*Or if you want the possibility to texture the inside diffrent then you give it another name(be aware that the outfit will need another subset(group) addon in the property set for it)

In both cases you also have to set the opacity settings, those control wich texture will overrule the next.(for alpha that is!!)
You find them in the comments box in milkshape
Body is -1
inside is 3
outside is 5
If you are attaching only more shoe meshes you can leave them all to -1

There are several reasons maxis didn't release this kind of meshes, the can give alot of problems like glitches and bleeding through.
I always advise peeps to just create 2 outfits, one for the transparancy and one for non transparancy but still the possibility to cut away parts of the alpha.
One uses the alphablendenabled while the other uses alphatest enabled.
But ask me when you that far Smiley
good luck!
Logged

No longer active
ceruleanpheonix
Member

Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2008, 10:33:36 am »

Thank you both for the help Smiley

Yes Bloom, I've been wanting to learn for a while. I've done quite a few but I don't feel any are worth sharing yet. I'm working on an alpha mesh for Warlokk's Fairy girl.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.108 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1