Insimenator.org
January 19, 2020, 08:32:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: InSim only exists due to the generosity of our awesome community. If you'd like to help out, see this thread and toss some change our way. Thanks!
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: EA Better shape up...  (Read 2975 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
SexyBeast0979
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 9


The Gentle Zombie...?


View Profile
« on: February 05, 2008, 09:32:42 am »

I'm so tired of using Bon Voyage as a nice 34$ paperweight. I'm seriously considering researching what kind of legal actions I, as a consumer, can take against a company that created and sold a product that they seemingly don't intend update, patch, or replace with a working product. I think it would be in the best interests of everyone here who has had problems with Bon Voyage or EA in general to do the same thing. We have legal rights as consumers and EA better remember that.

nota bene: I understand that there are many people who have had few if any problems at all, and can run and enjoy this expansion pack. This post is as much a rant as it is a nice little reminder to the people who have had horrible problems with the afore mentioned expansion pack, that we have rights and we shouldn't be afraid use them.
Logged
BiscuitTheGreat
Member

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 02:31:38 pm »

I am playing BV on a mac atm, and Its fine, but, I am switching to PC and I am very nervous about purchasing it and installing it on my PC, since its the PC version of BV that has SecuROM right?
Logged
Tenshii~Akari
(~TA12~)
Super Mod
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 3390


(~* Go Pink: Find the Cure *~)


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 05:00:45 pm »

^^  Yep.  Along with Sims 2 Deluxe, and very well possible Free Time when it's released, since EA hasn't made any indication that they're getting rid of SecuRom anytime soon.  Sad

SexyBeast, I really hate that they've forgotten that a happy customer = more $$$.  I mean, isn't that common sense?  The more satisfied the customers are and the better the service is given to them, the more likely the same customers are willing to continue to support the company by buying the product.  If they continually abandon said customers by pulling crap like they've done since day one (with all the lies, bugs, false advertising, etc.), then they loose the few "extra dollars" they could've made...

I thought greedy companies like that would've put those equations altogether by now.  But I guess they seriously don't give a crap... "what's a few dollars lost from one thing if I have a whole lot of other products to make up for it?"  Sad thought, but I think it's pretty much the truth.  :dontknow:
Logged

baLLet_doLLy
Member

Posts: 40



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 05:04:59 pm »

ok... what is secuRom? and i have BV for pc and mine has been working fine.... i think that is weird...
Logged

blahh. blahh. blahh.
LuckySeven
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2008, 05:12:20 pm »

This SecuROM thing must only be in the newer copies of Sims 2 Deluxe. I haven't had any problems with my game, but then again I got it last June.
Logged
Tenshii~Akari
(~TA12~)
Super Mod
*****
Gender: Female
Posts: 3390


(~* Go Pink: Find the Cure *~)


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2008, 09:26:43 pm »

Quote from: balletdolly;1128593
ok... what is secuRom? and i have BV for pc and mine has been working fine.... i think that is weird...


Read parts of these Wiki articles here and here.   Also, (since it's been reported that some employees of EA have actually been known to edit some wiki articles) you can get a heck of a lot more reliable info on it over at MATY.  (Also try doing a search for SecuRom on the main page, and you'll get a good amount of results for it.  Wink )  

I would've directed you to the official "SecuRom Support Threads" on the main site, but unfortunately they've magically "disappeared".  Such is the way of hiding corporate error.  :roll:
Logged

CynaraBlade
Member

Posts: 696



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2008, 10:07:49 pm »

"EA better shape up?" Haha, right...dream on. As long as they have money in their pockets, what reason do they have? I don't remember them ever having the interests of the community at heart, what with the SecuROM fiasco and the anti-paysite petition, which only prompted them to amend their TOS. So much for preserving harmony in the community.

BTW, I think Bon Voyage is a kick-ass EP and I've had no problems with SuckuROM...not so far, anyway, though I can't say I approve of EA carrying out an insidious measure such as the inclusion of that ogre of a program in their software. I'm not dismissing the possibility of something going horribly wrong though, but I'll worry about it when it happens.
Logged

:blob6:
BiscuitTheGreat
Member

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2008, 07:33:54 am »

Great... I just bought Deluxe a week ago....
Logged
courtneybby
my cat eats wooden tables
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 172


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2008, 06:30:01 am »

I haven't got BV yet (I know, I'm so old) but I'm going to back up my game before installing it.
Logged
j030977
Member

Posts: 21


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2008, 09:33:43 pm »

What kinda problems can be that bad?

After I got rid of all my hacks it ran like a charm/a gem.  have you tried to play it with nothing in your downloads folder at all? Just a fresh clean game?  


Not doubting your issues, just trying to help.
Logged
Yanni
Member

Posts: 10



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2008, 02:13:27 pm »

You guys TheSims2.com just posted up a patch for Bon Voyage. Cheesy
Logged

If this is the moment I stand here on my own
If this is my right of passage that somehow leads me home
I might be afraid but it's my turn to be brave
[/COLOR]
danceswithwands
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 512


[= *DAZZLED* =]


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2008, 04:09:18 am »

For anyone who doesn't think they are having a problem- hold your breath-

I didn't even know about the Securom thing until last night... but in less than 24 hours I have realized that all the things that had stopped working on my new pc- well - guess what...

It was Securom and BV.

I uninstalled the H&M, TSS, and BV then used the tool to remove Securom... and now my original Dell music, video, etc programs are working again, my McAfee has stopped bombarding me with "warnings", and all is right with the world...

Well except for the $90 I'm out for the stupid EA products that I am not afraid to use.

I am just glad I found out about this before I went out and bought Free Time... I had my money saved up and all ready to spend...

Nope- I have given enough to EA seeing as I have bought EVERY Sim game, EP, and stuff pack for TS2 and I bought all the ones for the original Sims too.

I don't like spending my hard earned money on un-usable games.

EA didn't even say "Sorry".

NICE---- way to gain customer loyalty eh?
Logged

~*~ Donna ~*~
I DO NOT ANSWER ANY PM REQUESTS! PLEASE READ POST#26 AT MY THREAD! *HERE'S THE LINK: http://www.insimenator.org/index.php/topic,85501.0.html
Sam the T-man
Formerly known as Sadie
Member

Posts: 1403


On hiatus from Insim


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2008, 09:01:54 am »

Am I one of the only ones here not having a problem with SecuROM? :oogle: Yes, after installing the latest patch, I bit the bullet and decided to use the patched .exe. I have PowerISO, MagicISO and a DVD-R/W drive, as well as deciding to take the plunge with Vista. No problems whatsoever (although I might need to update my graphics driver again). BV DVD is read in the drive, all my programs still work. Am I just lucky, or is it that I use programs that SecuROM doesn't recognise as blacklisted?
Logged

No requests please
AlbinoBambi
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 459


A.k.a. Ilse


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2008, 09:21:50 am »

I am having no issues either Sadie. I've been playing for a few weeks, now with the TSS cd in my drive, and I'm having no problems at all, and am just loving all the new stuff!
So I'm definitely buying Freetime, because it looks fabulous and SecuROM hans't done anything to my pc.
Really, the whole of BV is acting just fine for me.
Logged

Why can't life be like The Sims, where you can control someone with just one click?

Mr Heartache
Member

Gender: Female
Posts: 704


I don't wanna be S.O.L.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2008, 09:24:37 am »

Except for a random crashing problem... BV's never given me any trouble. Even the securocom whatchamajigger never gave me any trouble.
Maybe I'm just lucky! Cheesy
Logged

DON'T PM ME WITH REQUESTS OR I'LL SEND GERARD WAY AFTER YOU WITH A PITCHFORK.
Now I spit out words, do you see my lungs on the dancefloor?
[/SIZE]
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.052 seconds with 30 queries.
SimplePortal 2.1.1